jo skates

Thoughts about skating and the practice of everyday life

They’ve got my back

2 Comments

Remember that “wringing” sensation that sets up figure skating turns? I was working on three turns today, and Kari noticed that I was doing left three turns with my hip jacked up high. I explained that I was trying to work on that core rotation, but having trouble feeling it. She said, “When I feel it in my back, I know I’m really doing it.” So I tried to do this twisting motion using the muscles in my back, and not just those on the front and side of my body.

Wow!

I told Kari that I would name this motion after her”: the “Kari back-thing.” Maybe just the “back-thing” for short, or the “KBT.”

When you feel like you’ve been through the wringer, remember that it’s your friends who’ve got your back!

Author: Joskates

Don't see me on the ice? I may be in the classroom or at the theater, or hanging out with my family and friends.

2 thoughts on “They’ve got my back

  1. Skating is funny – if it feels too easy, you’re doing it wrong! If you feel a funny twist or a weird sensation, then you’re probably doing it right. 🙂

    Like

  2. It is funny. Sometimes the correct way feels strange or different–but while that makes it hard to do, the resulting motion (in the big picture) can feel easier. Thanks for reading, Eva!

    Like

Leave a Reply

