jo skates

Thoughts about skating and the practice of everyday life

Blame it on the boogie

4 Comments

So the problem with skating by myself these days is I have no one else to blame things on.

Not that there aren’t good days, mind you. Yesterday there was near-empty ice (a bit rough, but not too bad), a couple of good skating friends to compare notes with, a cute little hockey tyke with his father just to keep things interesting, and the conspicuous absence of pain in my body (no foot pain, hooray). I count that as a very good day.

And my left three turn was still okay, did I mention that?

But there are some days when I’m just frustrated and looking to pick a fight. And I can’t really blame everything on the fact that my hips aren’t level, or that my left glutes aren’t activating, or that my core muscles aren’t strong enough. I’ve tested everything, and it all works. Well, sometimes it works.

So I can only blame myself, which I guess isn’t a problem if I translate blame into activity.  Something like this:

  • “My left hip isn’t underneath me on the outside edge.” (“Get your left hip underneath you on the outside edge”)
  • “My core isn’t rotating enough.” (“Rotate your core–and remember to keep shoulders released and lats engaged.”)
  • “My hips are out.” (“Tailbone down!“)

This reminds me of something Ari used to say all the time. When I would complain “But I’m not on an edge!” he would retort, “So get on an edge.”

I can’t simply do the passive-aggressive thing and say à la Howard Jones that no one is to blame. Instead, I will just follow Michael’s lead for the song of the day.

I just can’t, I just can’t
I just can’t control my feet
I just can’t, I just can’t
I just can’t control my feet

Author: Joskates

Don't see me on the ice? I may be in the classroom or at the theater, or hanging out with my family and friends.

4 thoughts on “Blame it on the boogie

  1. I blamed my large calf muscles for not being able to straighten my leg in a camel spin. And my arms are always to blame when I can’t land certain jumps. It’s funny that we tend to want to place blame on something/someone when things aren’t going well on the ice!

    Like

  2. Yes, or we might even blame it on the ice itself!!! That darn ice!

    Like

  3. You don’t blame your skates? You’re missing a big field of opportunity!

    Like

  4. Oh what a good idea, Mary! I hand’t even thought of that. Come to think of it, my blades are getting worn down…

    Like

Leave a Reply

