jo skates

Thoughts about skating and the practice of everyday life

Homemade granola

4 Comments

I know that when times are tough, it is not enough to offer a granola recipe. I know that making or eating granola won’t really help.

But honestly, I don’t know what else to do. And maybe having a little something will help fortify and sustain those of us who need it right now. A little protein, a little sweetness, a little comfort until we can make it through the initial pain and figure out what to do next.

This granola isn’t the clumpy kind, and it has a high proportion of nuts and fruit to oats. You could certainly modify it by adding more oats, or fewer nuts, or egg whites to make it clumpy. There is very little sweetener, and you could leave this out entirely since the dates make this granola fairly sweet to begin with.

This is an easy recipe if you have a food processor. With my weak left hand, I think a food processor is a necessity, but I imagine there are some brave folks out there who would chop everything by hand. If you are one of them, I think it would be a matter of chopping everything first and then adding in wet ingredients and then oats.

Nutty Granola

1 cup dates
1 cup almonds (you can use different nuts, or fewer nuts)
1 cup pecans
1 cup sunflower seeds
3/4 cup shredded coconut
1/2 cup oil (I used avocado; coconut oil would work too)
a splash of honey or maple syrup
3 cups oats
dried fruit

In a food processor, chop up the dates loosely and then add the almonds and other nuts and chop some more (chopping them all at once will prevent having the dates clump up too much). Add coconut, oil, and sweetener if desired, and mix some more. In a large bowl, blend oats with nut mix. Place on rimmed cookie sheet or in large baking pan.

Bake in oven at 350 degrees for around 15-20 minutes, stirring thoroughly every 5-10 minutes, depending on how anxious you are. Watch the final stages carefully so that the granola doesn’t burn, and take out when it is about 3/4 golden brown. Add dried fruit if desired (I use craisins).

img_6045

So here’s the granola. And because that’s not enough, here’s a meditation.

May you be safe.
May you be peaceful.
May you be healthy and strong.
May you be free from suffering.

If you skate, may you skate long. And prosper.

Author: Joskates

Don't see me on the ice? I may be in the classroom or at the theater, or hanging out with my family and friends.

4 thoughts on “Homemade granola

  1. Thank you for sharing your granola recipe, Jo. When times are tough, I eat chocolate.. .so maybe I’d add some chocolate chips in here for a little somethin’ somethin’. 🙂 HUGS!

    Like

  2. A little chocolate does make everything better, Eva. Thanks! Here’s hugging back at you.

    Like

  3. I’m encouraged by how folks– including the younger ones– are stepping up their game. It’s good to be fortified in our safe spaces like the kitchen and the rink and then to venture forth. I’ve found some things old and new to be involved in.

    Like

  4. Yes, the younger generation is giving me hope, too. I’ve found I need to be really mindful of self-care these days. That granola didn’t last long! Another batch tomorrow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

