jo skates

Skating in the key of life

I’m on the edge of glory

2 Comments

Where would we be without friends at the rink? You know the ones I mean.

  • The ones who laugh when you crank up the volume on Lady Gaga’s “I’m on the edge of glory” (because every time the word “edge” comes up in any song, we know exactly what that means).
  • The ones who applaud when you fall spectacularly (okay, it was only a back inside three).
  • The ones who are delighted (or pretend to be delighted) to hear that the rotation on three turns happens almost automatically if (1) you are on a good (checked) edge going in, (2) rise and release the check to turn, (3) check and bend into the new edge (Kari’s threes are looking awesome!)
  • The one who listens patiently to you when you tell her that you think it’s a little weird to feel so happy when your coaches take apart your skating week after week (“They tell me all the things that are wrong with me, and I feel so good about it!”) And then Sonia responds, “You remind me of this cat we had that always loved us so much because she had been abused.”

Full moon tonight, and a warm rink: I’m feeling just a little giddy with skating and laughter.

I’m on the edge of glory

And I’m hanging on a moment of truth!

Author: Joskates

Don't see me on the ice? I may be in the classroom or at the theater, or hanging out with my family and friends.

2 thoughts on “I’m on the edge of glory

  1. Rink mates are the best! I love that we can laugh about our silly mistakes together and also be there to celebration each others’ accomplishments. At least you fell on a difficult element – I usually trip on my own two feet or on a mohawk! 🙂

    Like

  2. I wish it had been a triple axel (if I could have one jump, that would be it!) but it was just one of those threes that didn’t quite make it around and stalled. I too have done the “two feet” trip! Aaauugghhh, boom!

    Like

Leave a comment